Choose your language : FR | EN

Sagrada Familia - Barcelona : Barcelona Symphony Orchestra conducted by Kazushi OnoBack to the list

Length: 74'
Directors: Jean-Pierre Loisil
Producer: Les Films Jack Fébus
Language: Live concert
Format: HD
Country of Production: France
Copyright: 2016
Sagrada Familia - Barcelona : Barcelona Symphony Orchestra conducted by Kazushi Ono

From the very heart of the city’s most famous monument, the Sagrada Familia, the BSO’s new Musical Director, Japanese conductor Kazushi Ono, opens the 2015-2016 season of concerts. On the program are works from the sacred repertoire by Vivancos, Toru Takemitsu, Mozart and Faure’s magnificent Requiem.

For his first season at the head of the BSO, Kazushi Ono is striking a bold note: the orchestra is playing for the first time in the nave of the Sagrada Familia, performing a program chosen to reflect the architectural intensity of the mystical location imagined by Gaudi. An exceptional event in this, the city’s emblem and monument charged with powerful symbolism, that is the subject of one of the rare recordings at this prestigious site.

Baritone Josep Ramon Olivé, soprano Eugenia Boix, the Cor Jove de l’Orfeó Català and the French Madrigal Choir gather in the nave of the basilica to perform the most famous Mass for the Dead in the French repertoire, Faure’s Requiem, the major work in this concert.

A perfect way to combine the two arts cherished by the city of Barcelona: Gaudi’s architecture and symphonic music.



Conductor Kazushi Ono 

Baritone Joseph Ramon Olivé 

Soprano Eugènia Boix

Organ Juan de la Rubia

Orfeó Català Youth Choir

Madrigal Choir



B.VIVANCOS - Improvisation 

TAKEMITSU - Signals from heaven 

W.A.MOZART - Exultate Jubilate

G. FAURE – Requiem