Choose your language : FR | EN

Sir Simon Rattle conducts Delage, Ravel and Dutilleux with Leonidas KavakosBack to the list

Length: 96'
Directors: François René Martin
Producer: Les Films Jack Fébus
Coproducers: Mezzo & Arte
Language: Live concert
Format: HD
Country of Production: France
Copyright: 2016
Sir Simon Rattle conducts Delage, Ravel and Dutilleux with Leonidas Kavakos

On the occasion of the hundredth anniversary of the birth of Henri Dutilleux, the London Symphony Orchestra conducted by Sir Simon Rattle, performs a French program featuring three eminent French composers, characterized by their unique sense of balance and clarity. A rarely heard piece, Delage’s Four Hindu Poems is an ensemble of pieces centered around the soprano Julia Bullock and a reduced ensemble. Along with this, the orchestra plays masterpieces by Ravel and Dutilleux, notably the Tree of Dreams, an intense concerto for violin performed by Leonidas Kavakos and the Suite no2, Daphnis and Chloe by Ravel, an extract from the ballet of the same name created in 1912 that the composer himself described as a choreographic symphony. Leonidas Kavakos, soloist and conductor is one of the most renowned violinists of his generation and a regular guest artist with the London Symphony Orchestra.


Sir Simon RATTLE / conductor

Leonidas KAVAKOS / violin

Julia BULLOCK / soprano




RAVEL / Le tombeau de Couperin
DUTILLEUX / Tree of dreams
DELAGE / Four Hindu Poems
DUTILLEUX / Métaboles
Daphnis and Chloe – Suite No 2